Wednesday, July 20, 2005

Eminent Domain Task Force appointed

Missouri Governor Matt Blunt issued a news release a few moments ago unveiling who will be on the task force to study eminent domain in the state. The task force was formed after the U. S. Supreme Court ruling of a few weeks ago to review state and federal eminent domain laws and to set up criteria to be used in Missouri. The committee will also recommend legislation on eminent domain.
Listed below are those appointed to the task force and the description given by the governor's office on each one:
-Gerard T. Carmody of St. Louis is an attorney with Carmody, MacDonald P.C. Carmody's practice concentrates in commercial, real estate and employment litigation. Carmody is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Carmody holds a bachelor's degree from Spring Hill College in Alabama and a juris doctorate from St. Louis University.
-Chris Goodson of St. Louis is president and owner of The Goodson Company and Goodco. Goodson is also a principal at Gilded Age. Goodson has extensive knowledge in real estate development. Goodson holds a bachelor's degree in business administration and marketing and a master's in business administration from Southern Illinois University.
-Sen. Chuck Gross of St. Charles is vice president of Business Development for UMB Bank. Gross is a licensed real estate appraiser and owner of a small appraisal firm. Gross holds a bachelor's degree and master's in public administration from the University of Missouri- Columbia.
-Rep. Steve Hobbs of Mexico is president of Hobbs Farms, Inc. Hobbs is also the Audrain County director for the Monroe County Water Board. Hobbs is a member of the following organizations: Audrain Cattlemen's Association, Beef Advisory Council, Soybean Association and Audrain Country Board of the Missouri Farm Bureau.
-Leslie Holloway of Jefferson City is director of State and Local Governmental Affairs for Missouri Farm Bureau (MFB). Holloway began working with MFB on regulatory issues and administrative duties. She also has worked in Washington, D.C. as a lobbyist for the National Federation of Independent Business. Holloway holds a bachelor's degree in agricultural science from the University of Illinois.
-Lewis R. Mills of Jefferson City is public counsel who serves as the state's consumer advocate in the area of utility regulation at the Department of Economic Development. Mills previously served as deputy chief regulatory law judge for the Public Service Commission. Mills holds a bachelor's degree in geology from St. Lawrence University in New York and a juris doctorate from the University of Utah.
-Spencer R. Thomson of Kansas City is an attorney with Blackwell, Sanders, Pepper, and Martin LLP. Thomson has extensive knowledge in tax increment financing, Chapter 100 Bonds, Chapter 353 Incentives and transportation development districts. Thomson holds a bachelor's degree from Rockhurst College and a juris doctorate from Washington University.
-Howard C. Wright of Springfield is retired and works under contract as special council for Springfield. Wright has practiced eminent domain law as an attorney for the Missouri Highway Commission, city attorney for Cape Girardeau and city attorney for Springfield. Wright holds a bachelor's degree in public administration and a juris doctorate from the University of Missouri- Columbia.
According to the news release, the task force will only exist through the end of this calendar year. The governor's general counsel, Terry Jarrett, will serve as its chairman. Task force members will not be paid.

No comments: