Saturday, May 24, 2008

President declares Newton, Jasper counties a disaster area

The Neosho Daily News just posted that President Bush has declared Newton, Jasper, and Barry counties federal disaster areas due to the disasters which hit the area two weeks ago:

The president’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Newton, Jasper and Barry counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cost uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

R. David Paulison, administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Michael L. Karl as federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance Saturday by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and spe
ech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT.

No comments: