Tuesday, April 05, 2016

Final results- Martucci, Dermott, Musser, Sloan win board seats

The days of having three Joplin R-8 Board of Education members who were appointed by the County Commission and not elected by voters or appointed by the voters' elected representatives are about to come to an end.

With results in from both Jasper and Newton counties, Jennifer Martucci, Sharrock Dermott, Lori Musser, and Chris Sloan have been elected to the Board of Education.

Musser was the top vote-getter, receiving 3,025 votes to 1,376 for Joe Brown for a two-year term.

Martucci and Dermott won the two three-year terms with 2,379 and 2,291 votes, respectively. Mary Gaarder had 2,130 votes and Melissa Rodgers 1,406.

Sloan won the one-year seat with 2,492 to 1,887 for Carlos Hailey.


Anonymous said...

Well I guess Michael D- Landis was wrong. Elections do matter. Congratulations to the tax payers of Joplin R-8.

Anonymous said...

Congratulations Jennifer, Lori, Chris and Sharrock - keep the momentum going that has been started and keep focused on the real reason you should be there. Don't let outside forces influence your actions. Model for the students of the Joplin R8 the character traits that teach them respect, compassion, and honesty. Good luck and job well done!

Anonymous said...

Be careful what you wish for....now you will see the real intentions of the majority.

Anonymous said...

My goodness, 9:05 AM...looks like your candidates did not win...well looks like you will put up with the people's choices a while longer...get used to it! Evil and doubt never prevail!!

Anonymous said...

Ridding the district of fiscal waste and administrative bullying. That is what we have wished for.

Anonymous said...

No more bright futures for dim bulbs and a$$ki$$ers!