Friday, January 11, 2013

Joplin mayor Melodee Colbert-Kean to receive leadership award

(From the City of Joplin)

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. State Celebration Commission has selected Joplin Mayor Melodee Colbert-Kean as a recipient of the Commission’s Year 2013 Leadership Award. The award is being given in recognition of Kean’s achievements and continuing efforts to exemplify Dr. King’s ideals and commitments.
The Mayor will receive the award at the KICK-OFF Program sponsored by the Commission on Saturday, January 12, 2013. The event will begin at 6:30 p.m. and is being held at the main auditorium of the Harris-Stowe State University. Keynote speaker for the event is Xernona Clayton, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Trumpet Awards Foundation. Following the program, a reception will be held featuring Danita Mumphard and her band.
The commission considers and recommends appropriate activities for the recognition and celebration of Martin Luther King Day in Missouri. Created by executive order on December 2, 1985, the commission consists of seven members who serve at the pleasure of the Missouri State Governor.
The Martin Luther King Jr. State Celebration Commission is a continuing commission and meets at the call of the chair.

No comments: