Saturday, January 12, 2013

McCaskill: C. J. Huff deserves national award

(From Sen. Claire McCaskill)

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill is supporting special recognition of Joplin Superintendent C.J. Huff, who was announced as one of four finalists for National Superintendent of the Year by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA).
"C.J. has made Missouri proud-he's made tough and effective reforms by getting buy-in from students, teachers, businesses and families throughout the area," McCaskill said. "No one deserves this national award and the recognition that comes with it more than C.J."
2013 marks the 26th year that the AASA has given out the award, which honors the leadership and exceptional contributions to education of public school superintendents. In addition to Huff, the other nominees include:
  • Wanda Cook-Robinson, superintendent, Southfield Public Schools, Southfield, Mich.
  • Mark Edwards, superintendent, Mooresville Graded School District, Mooresville, N.C.
  • Maryalice Russell, superintendent, McMinnville School District, McMinnville, Ore.
The finalists meet today at the National Press Club in Washington D.C., where they are participating in a panel discussion concerning issues of importance to public school education in the United States. After the panel, they will each be interviewed by a national panel of educators, businesspeople and government officials in order to determine a winner who will be announced on February 21, at the National Conference on Education in Los Angeles, California.

Should Huff win the award, a $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in his name to the high school he attended.

No comments: