Sunday, June 28, 2015

Boehner names Hartzler to conference committee on Defense Authorization Act

(From Fourth District Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler)

House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) today named the following negotiators to serve on a formal House-Senate conference committee charged with resolving differences over the FY2016 National Defense Authorization Act:

“The House passed a strong defense bill that promises the pay raise and benefits our troops have earned and provides the tools, resources, and authorities they need to keep America safe. It is unfortunate that Democrats, who overwhelmingly backed the measure in committee, withdrew their support to extract more government spending on bureaucracies like the EPA and the IRS. It is even more disappointing that President Obama has threated to veto these promises to our troops in support of his party’s dangerously misguided strategy. I am, nevertheless, encouraged that we have reached the next step in advancing this critical legislation, and I am confident that this agreement will put our national security, and the brave men and women to whom we owe it, first.”

NOTE: In addition to the provisions mentioned above, the House-passed defense bill imposes greater restrictions on transferring terrorist detainees, provides lethal aid to Ukraine, strengthens our missile defense capabilities, enhances our cybersecurity, and more. A summary of the bill is available here.

The House Republicans the Speaker named to serve on the House-Senate conference committee are:

· Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX), Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee

· Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)

· Rep. Jeff Milller (R-FL)

· Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)

· Rep. Frank Lobiondo (R-NJ)

· Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)

· Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)

· Rep. John Kline (R-MN)

· Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)

· Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)

· Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)

· Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)

· Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)

· Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)

· Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)

· Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV)

· Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)

· Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Rewards for voting yes on the trade bill. Way to go Vicky.