Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Fifth candidate files for Joplin R-8 Board of Education, no incumbents file

The Joplin R-8 Board of Education will have three new members in April.

Incumbents Lynda Banwart and Debbie Fort, who were elected to three-year terms in 2014 and Chris Sloan, who was elected to a one-year, unexpired term last April, did not file for re-election.

The five candidates for the board:

Deborah L. Gould
Derek L. Gander
Elizabeth Talkington
Ron Brewer
Brent Scott Jordan


Anonymous said...

A big thank you to Debbie Fort for her service on the school board. She was an agent of change - who was the first school board member to vote against the solid CJ block and received a lot of flack and ridicule. She showed a lot of courage and opened the door for other board members to help make the changes that were badly needed.

Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

I couldn't agree more with every word! Dr. Fort is one strong and courageous lady that truly cares about what is best for our schools and children. I am so grateful that she was on the board and very much appreciate her service to our community. I would like to see more like her step up, instead of just spreading negativity and complaints.

Anonymous said...

608,you are absolutely correct. She stood up to the self appointed elitist of Joplin.