Saturday, November 18, 2023

Joplin R-8 Board parts ways with special education director in split vote

The Joplin R-8 Board of Education approved resignations of two certified employees during a closed session Tuesday.

The resignation of Special Education Director Meghan Klosterman was approved by a 5-2 vote with Rylee Hartwell,  Donald Greenlee, Veronica Scheurich, Marda Schroeder and David Weaver voting "yes" and board members John Hird and Matthew Robertson voting no.

Klosterman had been special education director since 2019 when she replaced Janet Earl. Prior to being hired for the position, she was a school psychologist in the Webb City R-7 School District and had been a counselor at Royal Heights, McKinley and Duquesne elementary schools.

The resignation of Tina Movick, a foreign language teacher at Joplin High School since 1994, was approved unanimously.

During the closed session, the board also took the following actions:

Classified Separations for Information Only: Jacquelyn Becket, Lauren Cochran, Deanna Davis, George Dixon, Ann Fox, Tammy Niederhelmn, Courtney Stratton, Brent Welton, Michelle Cramer

Classified Employments for Information Only: Crystal Clapper, Derek Green, Cody Kitts, Eric Lazure, Drew Parker, Melissa Prince, Jennifer Russow, Lilliana Soto, Lauren Cochran

Contracted Separations: Aleesha Jackson, Erin Taber, Daniel Spaulding, Cody Dodson, Brittany Davis

Certified Hire: Dana Orcutt

Substitute Teacher Hires: Caleb Hatfield, Tim Perigo, Brianne Shackles, Gissel Maturino, Richard Courtney, Tracy Allen

Substitute Secretary Hires: Gay Shaffer, Rachel Hursh, Holly Mallory

No comments: