Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Joplin R-8 Board accepts 16 resignations, hires four teachers

During its April 26 closed session, the Joplin R-8 Board of Education accepted 16 resignations and hired four teachers.

The resignations:

Heidi Avery
Keisha Edge
Tema Gillion
Katie Moore
Shelby Sullivan
Kelisa VanWinkle
Megan Wallace
Sarah Wright
Jennifer Williams
Ian Derrickson
Todd Lee
Shelly Livingston
Kiley Marti
Lyndsay Sorrick
Amanda Rich
Louise Rusk

The teacher contracts of Kevin Burgi, Annette Elam, Brooke Nicoletti, and Luis Percovich were renewed.

Certified personnel hired:

Brock Competon-Hamiel
Vickie Gilbert
Cassie Wheeler
Earlene White

Substitute teachers hired:
Lori Crysler 
Addison Houser 
Carrie Hutter 
Michael Juergens 
Christina Phelps
Jerry Savage.    

Classified Staff hired:
Jeremy Bernard 
Holly Crowder 
Jacqueline Filarski 
Maria Maturino
Tanner Rodgers
Judy Stoll.                                                                                                                                                               


Anonymous said...

What in the world is going on? Why are teachers continuing to flee this district? In April alone 23 teachers resigned! I thought it was suppose to be getting better with Huff gone.

Anonymous said...

Ritter's not any different than Huff. He has already proven that this week.

Anonymous said...

As long as everything in the buildings feels just like it did when Huff was there, teachers will keep leaving. So far it feels no better at all. Next year looks the same as the last five or more. It's such a perpetual disappointment and frustration. All we hear is talk, talk, talk. Talk is cheap. Nothing I need to live on is, though. So stop talking and start doing.

Banwart needs tou resign. She is part of the group that made this mess. She has no shame at all if she stays on.