Thursday, March 14, 2019

Blunt, Moran, Romney among 12 Republicans voting against Trump's Southern Border Wall emergency

In a vote that took place a few minutes ago, the U. S. Senate voted 59-41 for a measure that would prevent President Donald Trump's declaration of an emergency on the southern border, which would allow him to spend billions on a wall.

Roy Blunt, R-MO, Jerry Moran, R-Kansas and Mitt Romney, R-Utah were among 12 Republicans who voted for the measure, joining all Democrats and Independents.

Other Republicans voting for the measure were Lamar Alexander, R-Tennessee, Mike Lee, R-Utah, Susan Collins, R-Maine, Marco Rubio, R-Florida, Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, Rob Portman, R-Ohio, Rand Paul, R-Kentucky, Pat Toomey, R-Pennsylvania, and Roger Wicker, R-Mississippi.

The measure had already been approved by the House.

President Turmp has indicated he will veto the bill, which will leave the final decision on whether Trump can take money that has already been allocated by Congress, which has the sole authority to appropriate money according to the U. S. Constitution and use it for another purpose to the courts.


Anonymous said...

That is the first time I have been sorta proud of our crooked politician. Where was Hawley on this one, out seeking campaign money?

Anonymous said...

I bet Billy Long is thanking his lucky stars he could be a bystander voting the tRUMP party line while the Democrats in the House took care of business with their half of this action.

Anonymous said...

Glad some of them know they are being watched and we will remember who votes how on these issues!