Friday, January 19, 2018

Joplin residents to elect five city council members in April

(From the City of Joplin)

Citizens will have an opportunity to decide on five City Council seats of the nine-member board during the April 3, 2018 election. Six people have been certified as candidates for three general seats open this spring; two candidates are running for one Zone 4 seat; and an incumbent is running unopposed for the  Zone 1 post. Citizens may vote on general seat and zone candidates regardless of their residency in a particular zone. The Council is comprised of five general seat positions and four zone positions.
Candidates running for the general seats include incumbent Ryan Stanley, Harvey Hutchinson, Doug Lawson, Joshua Bard, Steve Urie, and Anthony Monteleone. Morris Glaze and Diane Reid Adams are vying for the Zone 4 seat, and incumbent Gary Shaw is running unopposed for the Zone position.
Absentee voting opens Tuesday, February 20 with Monday, April 2 being the last day to vote absentee. March 28 is the last day that absentee ballots can be mailed out. Jasper County Clerk’s office will be open from 8 a.m. to 12 noon on Saturday, March 31 for those needing to vote absentee.
If not registered to vote, citizens have until March 7, 2018 to register. To be eligible to vote in Missouri, residents must meet the following requirements:
  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Be at least 17 1/2 years old to register, and 18 years old by Election Day.
  • Be a resident of Missouri.
Voters may register in person at their County Clerk's office at the address listed below. Voter registration applications are also available at a Department of Motor Vehicles office or any state agency providing service to the public.
For questions, Jasper County residents should call 417-358-0413, and Newton County residents should call 417-451-8221. Other contact information is listed below to help residents with voting questions.
Jasper County, County Clerk's Office
302 S. Main, Rm. 102
Carthage, MO 64836
FAX: 417-358-0415
Newton County, County Clerk's Office
101 S. Wood St.
Neosho, MO 64850
FAX: 417-451-7434
Additional Voter Info...

No comments: