Wednesday, September 12, 2007

Vote on next House speaker set for today

With Sen. Gary Nodler already moving to the chairmanship of the powerful Appropriations Committee, this area of Missouri has an opportunity to control leadership positions in both parties, depending on the outcome of today's vote for Speaker of the House.
Ron Richard, R-Joplin, and Allen Icet, R-Wildwood, are vying for the position, which will not go into effect until January 2009, when current Speaker Rod Jetton, R-Marble Hill, leaves due to term limits.
Steve Tilley, R-Perryville, was elected House Majority Leader Tuesday.

No comments: