Friday, April 27, 2018

Greitens appoints Joplin neurosurgeon, term-limited Lamar representative to state boards

(From Gov. Eric Greitens)

Gov. Eric Greitens appointed the following people to state boards and commissions:

Ronetta Burton, of Pattonsburg, was appointed as the Daviess County Clerk.

Burton is the Interim County Clerk for Daviess County.  She served as the Deputy County Clerk for Daviess County for five years.  Burton is a member of the Coffey Fire Protection District Board of Directors and the Daviess County Central Dispatch 911 Board.

Rep. Mike Kelley, of Lamar, was appointed to the Missouri Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

Rep. Mike Kelley represents Barton, Dade, part of Jasper, and part of Cedar Counties (District 127) in the Missouri House of Representatives.  Rep. Kelley is a member of the Barton County, Lockwood, and Greenfield chambers of commerce.  He is also a member of Rotary International and attends Oakton United Methodist Church.  Rep. Kelley serves as the Chair of the Special Committee on Tax Policy.

Bob MacDonald, of Poplar Bluff, was appointed to the Southeast Missouri State University Board of Regents.

MacDonald is the President and CEO of S. H. Smith & Company, Inc.  He previously served as Mayor and City Councilman for the City of Poplar Bluff.  MacDonald holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Southeast Missouri State University.  He is a member of American Veterans Post #29, American Legion Post #153, the Society of Marketing Professional Services, and the Missouri Association of Municipal Utilities. 

Chassity Nevels, of Richmond, was appointed to the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board.

Nevels is a school resource officer and D.A.R.E instructor with the Richmond Police Department.  She holds an Associate of Arts degree in nursing from Moberly Area Community College.  Nevels received POST Class A Certification from the Law Enforcement Training Institute.

Dr. M. Ellen Nichols, of Joplin, was appointed to the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts.

Dr. Nichols is a neurosurgeon at Freeman Health System in Joplin, Mo.  She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in biology from the University of Kansas and a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Chicago.  Dr. Nichols is a member of the American Medical Association, the Missouri State Medical Association, and the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. 

Janet Rogers, of Lathrop, was appointed to the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board.

Rogers is a Juvenile Officer and the Director of Juvenile Court for Clay County Family Court in Liberty, where she has worked for more than 20 years.  She holds a master’s degree in public affairs and a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice administration from Park University.  Rogers serves on the Community Action Agency Board of Directors, the Friends of Clay County CASA Board of Directors, and the Transitions Family Visitation Board of Directors.

Casey Short, of Greenfield, was appointed as the student representative of the University of Central Missouri Board of Governors.

Short is a freshman majoring in criminal justice and minoring in forensic science.  She is a 2017 graduate of Greenfield R-IV High School.  Short is a member of the UCM Honors College, Lambda Alpha Epsilon, and UCM Young Americans for Freedom. 

John Stamm, of St. Louis, was appointed to the Missouri Community Service Commission.

Stamm is the Director of Global Philanthropy at JCI (Junior Chamber International).  He holds bachelor’s degrees in business administration and in philosophy from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.  Stamm serves as Vice President of the St. Louis Area Mensa and is a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals and the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network. 

1 comment:

Harvey Hutchinson said...

In Dr Ellen Nicholls, Govenor Greitens has appointed both the finest Neurosurgeon, and the finest PERSON in the state to that Board

Harvey Hutchinson