Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Carthage R-9 Board accepts two teacher resignations, four teachers hired

(From the Carthage R-9 School District)

The Carthage R-9 Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, July 15, 2019, 6 pm, at the Early Childhood Center. Present were Board members Jeff Jones, Lee Elliff Pound, Niki Cloud, Tony Diggs, Elizabeth Streich, Bill Lasley, and Wayne Jones.

The Board approved the consent agenda for the purpose of approving the meeting agenda, minutes of previous meeting, payment of bills, monthly financial reports, Citizenship Policy, Avilla School District tuition rate, date for annual tax rate hearing, and a revised policy and regulation.

Gregg Wolf, Assistant Superintendent for Business, provided an evaluative report on Food Services. The total number of breakfasts served increased from 221,975 in 2017-18 to 227,892 in 2018-19 and the total lunches served increased from 417,778 in 2017-18 to 418,528 in 2018-19.

Breakfast participation in the high school almost doubled from the previous year with the implementation of the Breakfast After the Bell program contributing to the increase.

All food service personnel receive annual sanitation training and professional development opportunities.

Jeff Fries, Transportation Director, provided an evaluative report on Transportation. The district received its 17th consecutive Fleet Excellence Award from the Missouri State Highway Patrol for exemplary bus inspections earning a 94.7% inspection rating in 2019.

New flashing lights installed on the front and back of each bus have been very effective in alerting other drivers students are loading and unloading. Four minor accidents related to driver error were reviewed by the Safety Review Team in 2018-19. Additional training on distracted driving and driving/parking in parking lots will be provided to all bus drivers before the beginning of the 2019-20 school year.

Mrs. Elliff Pound provided an update on Carthage R-9 School Foundation activities. The Foundation is hosting the annual Tiger Pride Run being held at Haffner Stadium on Saturday, September 7th . Participants and corporate sponsors are being sought.

Revised policies were distributed for review. Final drafts will be considered for adoption at the August 19, 2019, regular meeting of the Board.

Dr. Baker updated the Board with the following items:

 Governor Parson signed a bill into law pushing back the earliest possible start date for public schools from 10 days before the first Monday in September to 14 days before the first Monday in September. This change will not take effect until the fall of 2020. August 24 is the earliest start date starting in 2020.

 New Teacher Academy will begin August 5, with 57 teachers scheduled to participate.

 The 2019-20 school year will begin August 15, 2019.

 In closed session, the Board approved the following personnel actions:

Resignations/Release from Contract 

Certified Staff (Release 2019-20 Contract) 

Samantha Kibel- Language Arts Junior High
Patricia Woods,-Special Education High School

Employment (effective for the 2019-20 school year) 

Certified Staff 

Chelsea Beaver- Math Junior High
Elizabeth Persons- EL Steadley
Sarah Weston- EL Junior High
Rachelle Schrader- Virtual Learning North Tech Center

Support Staff 

Krystal Golay- Secretary/Counselors High School
Lauren Hill- College & Career Case Mgr. (Part Time) North Tech Center
Samuel Hilton- Summer Maintenance
Dayzah Kelly- Paraprofessional Steadley
April Knell- Paraprofessional Steadley
Bridget Sparlin- Admin. Asst. Athletic Dir/A+ Coord. High School
Abigail Thomas- Testing Coord/Admin. Asst. (Part Time) North Tech Center
Aron Yeakey- Summer Maintenance Transfers/Reassignments
Carolyn Clayton- Paraprofessional Mark Twain (formerly Columbian Elementary)
Carmen Feliciano Administrative Asst. EL Directors (formerly Fairview-Secretary)
Michele Joyce Special Education Junior High (formerly CIC-Special Education
Jared Patrick Assistant Principal (2019-2020) High School (formerly Tech Center-Asst. Director) Assistant Principal (2020-2021) Junior High/Sixth Grade Center
Gage Tiller Assistant Director Tech Center (formerly Tech Center-Business)

No comments: