Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Carl Junction High School teacher Christopher Huhn named Regional Teacher of the Year

(From the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education)

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) announced the 2020 Missouri Regional Teachers of the Year this week, with the 35 selected teachers now eligible to be named the 2020 Missouri Teacher of the Year.

Committees comprised of education peers and key stakeholders for each Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) in Missouri selected the 2020 Regional Teachers of the Year.

Agency for Teaching, Leading, and Learning

Courtney Dameron, Springfield R-XII – family consumer science, Hillcrest High School
Melissa Grandel, Fordland R-III – English language arts, Fordland High School
Zachary Hamby, Ava R-I – English language arts, Ava High School

Central RPDC

Keri Borchers, Santa Fe R-X – English language arts, Santa Fe High School
David Honeycutt, Lafayette Co. C-1 – English language arts, Lafayette Co. High School

Heart of Missouri

Clara Bennion, Camdenton R-III – science, Camdenton High School
Kevin Lay, Gasconade Co. R-II – physics/physical science, Owensville High School
Regina Roe, Jefferson City – mathematics, Jefferson City High School

Kansas City RPDC

Deb Caywood, Liberty 53 – fifth grade, Epic Elementary
Maria Derner, Harrisonville R-IX – Spanish, Harrisonville Middle School
Blake Little, Lee’s Summit R-VII – history, Lee’s Summit High School
Cindy Long, Grandview C-4 – first grade, Martin City Elementary
Jennifer Spiegel, North Kansas City 74 – English language arts, Antioch Middle School
Michelle Sumler, Belton 124 – mathematics, Belton High School

Northeast RPDC

Marie Ebbesmeyer, Paris R-II – second grade, Paris Elementary
Alison Robinson, Macon Co. R-I – English language arts, Macon High School

Northwest RPDC

Denise Henggeler, Northeast Nodaway Co. R-V – fourth grade, Northeast Nodaway Elementary
Mark Korell, St. Joseph – social studies, Robidoux Middle School
Sandra Wood, Maryville R-II – Spanish, Maryville High School

South Central RPDC

Dan Brinkman, Washington – automotive technology, Four Rivers Career Center
Olga McFadden, Waynesville R-VI – German, Waynesville High School

Southeast RPDC

Mary Hall, Chaffee R-II – mathematics, Chaffee Junior/Senior High School
Shannon Porter, Zalma R-V – English language arts, Zalma Elementary

Southwest Center

Christopher Huhn, Carl Junction R-I – industrial technology/engineering, Carl Junction High School
Sarah Morris, Bronaugh R-VII – first grade, Bronaugh Elementary

St. Louis

Kelsie Ballmann, Ft. Zumwalt R-II – all academic areas, social skills, Rock Creek Elementary
Nicole Boyer, Jefferson Co. R-VII – English language arts, Jefferson High School
Trimiel C. Cole, Jennings – mathematics, Northview Elementary
Mark Garascia, Hancock Place – alternative education & credit recovery, Hancock Place High School
Angela Kelly, Ladue – reading, Ladue Fifth Grade Center
SheneĆ© McCoy, Ritenour – fifth grade, Kratz Elementary
Meghan Menchella, Rockwood R-VI – history, Crestview Middle School
Jeremiah Simmons, Pattonville R-III – computer science, Pattonville High School
Rachael Wilcox, Francis Howell R-III – first grade, Independence Elementary
Michelle Wirick, Valley Park – first grade, Valley Park Elementary

The Regional Teacher of the Year program began in 2016 in an effort to celebrate outstanding teachers from all areas of the state. The 2020 Missouri Teacher of the Year will be selected in August.

Shelly Parks, an English language arts teacher from Francis Howell North High School (Francis Howell R-III), is the current Missouri Teacher of the Year.

DESE conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and Bayer AG.

No comments: